HHS soccer hangs tough
HHS soccer hangs tough
Ken McLemore, Hope Public Schools
Wednesday, April 10, 2019

HOPE – Boys’ and girls’ soccer programs at Hope High School are in the middle of tough seasons going into conference play this year, but HHS Soccer Coach Zac Hoglund is optimistic about improvements he has seen.

“The boys team plays hard, we just need to play with more confidence and have some fun,” Hoglund said.

The Bobcats have compiled a 4-3 overall record this season.

“We won the Texarkana tournament earlier this year,” Hoglund said. “I think we put a lot of pressure on ourselves early in the season.”

Hope stands 1-2 in conference play, in what Hoglund terms as a tough conference.

“Both the boys and girls conferences are very tough,” he said. “We have to play every game. Everybody in our conference is good.”

Hoglund has seen some bright spots.

“We had a big bounce back win over Nashville, 2-0,” he said.

Hoglund said the girls’ squad also stands 1-2 in conference play, with an overall 1-6 record this year.

“Their first win of the season was a 5-0 victory over Mena,” he said. “Our girls are starting to play better and play together.”

Conference play will continue through the conference tournament, which will determine playoff opportunities and seeding, he said.

“It’s still early in conference play,” Hoglund said.

Bobcat varsity squad members include seniors Jorge Rodriguez, Edelmiro Bustillos, Daniel Hernandez, Charles Anderson, Pablo Piza, Jose Ruiz, Luis Torres, and Ezequel Monreal; juniors Kevin Morales, Aryell Felipe, Edgar Martinez, John Valasquez, Israel Gallegos, and, Brando Salinas; sophomores, Hector Vasquez, Eric Barton, Lalo Jimenez, Joshua Martinez, Samuel Munoz, Eduardo Dominguez, Chris Torres, Isai Sanchez, Carlos Pacheco, Adrian Dominguez, and Brandon Chavez; and, freshmen Johan Barrios, Steven Luna, Sebastian Reyna, Julian Lara, and Isaac Hernandez.

Ladycat varsity soccer players include seniors Lali Martinez, Jasmine Aguilar, Jaquelin Rodriguez, Natzari Felipe, Jenni Medina, Michelle Aguilar, Karen Villanueva, and Hanna McCorkle; juniors Kathy Rogel, Daisy Aguilar, Ruby Lopez, Michelle Mayo, Evelyn Medina, Britney Alvarado, and Paula Guiterrez; sophomores Neomi Salazar, Brittney Martinez, Verenice Leyva, Dayana Cardona, Lisbeth Arroyo, and Leasly Rangel; and, freshmen Esperanza Cabriales, Briana Puente, Darlene Matamoros, Miriam Garcia, and Iris Alvarado.