Post-season honors announced
Post-season honors announced
Hope Public Schools
Friday, April 07, 2017

HOPE – Post-season honors for the Hope High School Bobcat basketball program have been announced, according to HHS coach Sam Bradford.

Bradford’s squad won its first 5A South Conference title in a blended 5A-6A conference schedule that pitted Hope against ranked 6A opponents Lake Hamilton and Arkansas High (Texarkana), and losing only to top-seed El Dorado on its home court this season.

The 19-10 overall and 10-6 conference team ended its season in the first round of the state playoffs in a year that saw the Cats destroy DeQueen in a 50-point win at home.

Senior Clyde Ricks and Markel Haynie, along with juniors Keith Brown and T.D. Walton were named to the All-State team, with Ricks garnering All-State Tournament Team honors.

Ricks, Haynie, Brown, Walton, JaBre Martin and Desmond McDonald were named to the All-Conference Team, with Nick Thomas and Marcus Blakley receiving All-Conference Honorable Mention.

Haynie, who holds the HHS record for career-high scoring in a single game at 44 points, was nominated for the Arkansas High School Coaches Association All-Star Game.

Haynie, Ricks, McDonald, Walton, Brown, Thomas, Martin and Blakley all posted multiple double-figure scoring performances during the season, which saw the Bobcats go 2-1 in tournament outings at New Boston and 3-2 at the annual Paris, Texas, event.