Three FBLA members qualify for state
Ken McLemore, Hope Public Schools
Tuesday, February 09, 2016

HOPE – Three team members from the Hope High School Future Business Leaders of America team qualified to advance to statewide competition from the recent Arkansas District IV FBLA-Phi Beta Lambda Connect Spring Leadership Conference at the University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana.

HHS team members advancing to state competition include Carina Martinez and Jasmine Gunn, fourth place, business ethics; and, Edith Mendoza, sixth place, FBLA principles and procedures.

The 13-member HHS team competed against 39 other schools in the Arkansas southwest district, with a total of 915 students involved in the day-long competition at Hempstead Hall. Other competition entries from Hope included Jasmine Aguilar, business communication; Michelle Aguilar, computer applications; Maiya Bell, personal finance; Darian Hall, health care administration; Jesus Hernandez and Carneshia Robinson, hospitality management team; Molly Mockabee, Accounting I; Tatyanna Smith, job interview; and Mario Valdez, Public Speaking II.

Additional team members from HHS included Justice Glenn and Jesus Ruiz, who participated in a general workshop and one on public speaking.

The District IV FBLA also announced a $5,000 grant to the Make A Wish Foundation from funds raised by chapters across the district.

FBLA sponsor Joyce Thrasher said that District IV has hosted the conference for the past two years at Hempstead Hall.