Pageant, talent show set for Saturday
Ken McLemore, Hope Public Schools
Friday, March 11, 2016

HOPE – It’s the Hope High School equivalent of “American Idol,” as the HHS Student Council presents the Mr./Miss Hope High School Pageant and Talent Show at Hempstead Hall Saturday.

Student Council sponsor Lena VanCamp said the pageant/talent contest is in its 10th year as the principal fundraiser for the student government.

“Funds raised will be put to use towards prom and any other Student Council sponsored events,” she said. “The students look forward to this event every year and they even talk about the show long after it is over.”

Curtain is at 3 p.m. Saturday in the main auditorium at Hempstead Hall on the University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana campus. Admission is $5 for adults and children under age 2 are free.

“We hope to have a good turnout and we invite everyone to attend in order to support our hard working and talented students,” VanCamp said.

Contestants for the Mister Hope High School contest include four junior students, Phillip Knighton, Austin Stubber, Matthew Tullos, and Mario Valdez.

Miss Hope High School contestants include junior students Tia-Elizabeth Corbett, Justice Lawson, Sydney Watson, and Iliana Martinez; and, senior students Seadra Gilliam, Lakin Hulett, and Alanis Flores.

Talent competition acts include senior students Kamorien Monk, Judith Artis, Byron Dismuke, Mario Valdez, A’lecia Conway, and Joanna Arechiga; and freshmen students Allysa Fincher, Senai Johnson, Erounnia Hearon, Kelsy Reedy, and Charliecia Marshall; as well as the HHS Band Drum Line, including Nicholas Collins, LaCarlos Johnson, Elijah Coleman, William White, Matthew Kelesoma, R. J. Ford and Da’lon Perkins.

Program emcees include Student Body President Gabby Cheatham and Secretary Payton Belasco.

Student Council members working in the production include Jaidyn Simmington, Makala Williams, Mariah Spellman, Jenna Means, Zoie Hollis, Morgan Gray, Jordan Davis, Justice Glenn, Tristen Jones, Austin Coronado, and Josh Witherspoon.