FFA Rodeo has banner run
Ken McLemore, Hope Public Schools
Thursday, April 21, 2016

HOPE – Crowds were on hand at Hope Fair Park Coliseum Arena for thrills and spills each night during the 57th annual Hope High School FFA Rodeo to cheer on old timers and students in competition which produced a banner year for the student-run event.

“The year’s rodeo was great,” FFA Advisor Christina Smith said. “We are grateful to our sponsors and to the community members who come out to watch every year.”

Smith said the FFA chapter sold more than 1,000 tickets and received more than $5,000 from business and community donations, this year.

“The rodeo makes it possible to run our chapter all year; to send students to leadership camps; pay entry fees; and, other costs associated with helping to mold our students into productive and agriculturally-aware citizens,” she said. “We couldn’t be more blessed to live in such a supportive community.”

Top honors this year went to All-Around Cowgirl Savanna Collins and All-Around Cowboy Laith Zimmer. Chase Jones won the Pistol Memorial Award, presented by the Singleton family, and Jase Newton was named the Earl Downs Top Hand Award winner, presented by the Price family.

FFA 2015 Junior Rodeo Queen Sophy Tyson crowned Adalyn Peek as the 2016 FFA Junior Rodeo Queen; and, former FFA advisor Jack Watkins presided as grand marshal for the nightly grand entry of cowboys and cowgirls.

Winners by event included:

Bareback riding – Braden Schobey, first place; Chase Jones, second place; and Laith Zimmer, third place.

Junior bull riding – Kaleb Bunn, first place; and, Kelston Mask, second place.

Hide ride – Summer King, Chase Jones, first place; Andrew Miller, Jordan Miller, second place; and Shelbie Godwin, Savanna Collins, third place.

Calf haltering – Wesley McWilliams, first place; and, Ashley Rodden, second place.

Goat ribbon pull winner – Brent Smith.

Junior goat tying winner – Ana Watkins.

Senior goat tying – Ty Watkins, first place; Laith Zimmer, second place; and Jase Newton, third place.

Wild steer tagging – Wesley McWilliams, Jonathan Loe, Tristan Bunker, first place; Bobby Johnson, Jesus Torres, Summer King, second place; and Cody Lockhart, Laith Zimmer, Marco Torres, third place.

Mutton busting – Callie Murry, first place; Cayden Brown, second place; and, Kelbyn Campbell, third place.

Barrel pickup – Jase Newton, Savanna Collins, first place; Laith Zimmer, Melodie Maurer, second place; and Ty Watkins, Andrew Miller, third place.

Chute dogging – Jase Newton, first place; and, Jordan Davis, second place.

Junior pole bending – Kelsey Harris, first place; Brent Smith, second place; and, Bailey Hayes, third place.

Senior pole bending – Savanna Collins, first place; Shelbie Godwin, second place; and Summer King, third place.

Junior barrel racing – Kelsey Harris, first place; Katie Ella Webster, second place; and, Brent Smith, third place.

Senior barrel racing – Savanna Collins, first place; Jase Newton, second place; and, Shelbie Godwin, third place.

Bull riding – Laith Zimmer, first place; Kelbi Campbell, second place; and, Jordan Davis, third place.

Old Timer’s Night event winners included:

Calf roping winner – Paul Eubanks.

Chute dogging winner – David Tarply.

Barrel racing winner – Lacey Singleton.

Wild steer tagging winning team – Tanya Geary, Andy McWilliams, and David Bunker.

Team roping winning team – Paul Eubanks and Sidney Flowers.

Awards will be presented to the winners at the annual FFA banquet in May.

(See rodeo photos on Facebook.)