HHS administrators named
Ken McLemore, Hope Public Schools
Wednesday, June 08, 2016

HOPE – The administrative complement in the Hope Public Schools has been completed for the 2016-2017 school year.

The HPS Board named two of three new administrators during a called meeting Tuesday, including two new assistant principals at Hope High School and an assistant principal at Clinton Primary School.

Donald Patton, of Wake Village, Texas, had previously been appointed as assistant principal at HHS in board action May 16. Patton has been an educator for 33 years, with 20 years of administrative experience and 13 years of classroom teaching experience.

He comes to the HPSD from the Liberty Eylau Independent School District near Texarkana, Texas, where he has been assistant high school principal since 2009. Prior to that time, Patton was the principal at Alto High School in Alto, Texas for four years. He was assistant high school principal in the Mount Pleasant, Texas, school district for 10 years, having also taught in grades 9-12 at Mount Pleasant for four years prior.

A graduate of Camden-Fairview High School in Camden, Patton holds a Bachelor of Science degree in general science from Henderson State University in Arkadelphia. He earned a Master of Science degree in mid-management from Stephen F. Austin University in Nacogdoches, Texas, in 1997.

Patton holds administrative licensure and certification in Arkansas, as well as certification and licensure in Life/Earth Science 7-12, Physical Education Wellness and Leisure 7-12, and standard principal EC-12 in Texas.

John Radebaugh, currently of Okeechobee, Fla., was named assistant high school principal Tuesday night.

Radebaugh is a graduate of Nashville High School in Nashville, Ar., and he holds an Associate Degree in agriculture from Indian River State College in Fort Pierce, Fla. He took a Bachelor of Science degree in human resources management at Palm Beach Atlantic University in West Palm Beach, Fla., in 1993; and, he earned a Master of Science degree in educational leadership from the University of South Florida in Lakeland, Fla., in 2006.

Radebaugh has 12 years of administrative experience and taught for five and half years. He has taught in the Okeechobee County School District in Florida since 1998, after two years as principal at South Elementary School in Okeechobee. Radebaugh served as director of career and technical education for the Okeechobee districct from 2007-2012, prior to that time serving as assistant principal/athletic director at Okeechobee High School for four years.

He is licensed and certified in Florida as a K-12 administrator, middle grade mathematics (5-9) teacher, and middle grades science teacher, as well as being certified in educational leadership.

Also appointed Tuesday night as assistant principal (K-1) at Clinton Primary School was Robin Townsend, former Beryl Henry Elementary School instructional facilitator for the past four years. In that capacity, Townsend assisted teachers, students and parents in promoting and maintaining the quality of literacy instruction on campus.

The Tuesday session of the board was called to deal with year-end personnel changes. Other certified hires included Carla Narlesky, school improvement specialist at Hope High School; Melissa Gildon, math facilitator; Lacey Robbins, literacy facilitator; David Headrick, HHS math teacher; Janet Banister, HHS summer school teacher; Donald Patton, HHS summer school administrator; and Shannon Hawthorne, transfer from Clinton Primary to Hope Academy of Public Service.

Former HHS secretary Laura Cowling will transfer to become principal’s secretary at Yerger Middle School.

Save the Children summer program tutors hired included Bonnie Cunningham, Gina Karber, Stephanie Crow, Kenyari Martin, Stacy Brown, Cherlyn Brandon, and Nina King.