Educator Hall of Fame names sought

HOPE – The Hope Public School District, in conjunction with the Hempstead County Bicentennial Commission, the University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana, and county schools, is calling for nominations to the Hempstead County Educator Hall of Fame.

HPSD Superintendent Bobby Hart said the concept is being developed as a bicentennial “heritage” project that will recognize local and county educators in public, parochial, and post-secondary education in Hempstead County.

“The Hempstead County Educator Hall of Fame selects individuals to be honored for their outstanding contributions to the field of education in Hempstead County, Arkansas,” Hart said.

Each educational entity in the county will be asked to set specific criteria for its inductees, and as many as three inductees will be selected annually by each educational entity within the county, he said.

“Recipients are awarded a plaque bearing their name and a brief description of the Hall of Fame’s mission,” Hart said. “A photo and mini bio of each recipient will be posted on the Hempstead County Educator Hall of Fame website, and at a designated venue on the UAHT campus in Hope.”

Eligibility requirements for Hope Public School District nominees include:

--Nominee retired from field of education in Hope Public Schools.

--Nominee must have minimum of 10 years of active service as an HPSD educator.

--Posthumous nominations will be accepted.

Nominations should be made by letter addressed to Hart, and should include the name, tenure of service, brief personal biography, and brief narrative of significant educational contributions of the nominee.

Nomination letters should be delivered to Eva Scott at the HPSD Administration Building, 117 E. Second St., in Hope by Jan. 31, 2018.

Hope nominations will be reviewed by a committee including representation from the HPSD faculty/administration, Hope Retired Teachers Association, HEA/AEA, Delta Kappa Gamma local chapter, and the Yerger High School Alumni Association.