Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Board appoints Powers
Board appoints Powers
Ken McLemore, Hope Public Schools
Wednesday, May 31, 2017

HOPE – A former school board member and state legislator was named to the Hope Public Schools Board during an end-of-school business session Tuesday.

David “Bubba” Powers, who served on the board from 2004-2007 was unanimously appointed Tuesday night to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Zone 2 Representative Mildred Green.

Powers will serve until the next school board election in September, when he will be required to seek re-election should he desire to continue to serve on the board. He stated in his letter of intent his willingness to do so.

Powers will be installed as the Zone 2 board representative at the regular June session of the board on June 19.

Powers has served as vice president of the board, and has worked with youth throughout his professional career as the Eighth Judicial District-North Juvenile Intake Officer for the courts system.

Powers served three terms in the Arkansas House of Representatives from 2007 – 2013, where he sat on the Aging, Children and Youth Committee, Arkansas Legislative Council, Joint Budget Committee, Joint Performance Review Committee and the House Judiciary Committee.

“I am fully aware of the many challenges facing K-12 public education,” Powers said in his letter of intent to the district. “It will be my honor to work with you and your Board members in trying to meet those challenges.”

The board voted on the appointment after a 45-minute executive session in which it reviewed the letters of intent submitted through the office of Superintendent Bobby Hart.

Green has served since first elected in September, 2010. She was serving as board secretary at the time of her resignation. Green and her husband moved to Tyler, Texas, to be closer to family members.

Also Tuesday, the board accepted the retirement of Ira D. Love, assistant superintendent for federal programs and equity, after 37 years.

Love received a Bachelor of Education degree from Ouachita Baptist University in 1973, and a Master of Education degree from OBU in 1986. He taught social studies at Hope High School for 14 years prior to becoming assistant principal at HHS, and later was named assistant superintendent for federal programs and equity. Love is a native of Hope; he attended Yerger High School and graduated from Hope High School.

The board also addressed a number of other personnel-related matters including the reclassification of two district administrative positions involving facilities and transportation, and district technology.

Hart said both positions had been “traditionally” considered certified status positions, requiring Arkansas teaching licensure; but, that was by board tradition rather than state law. He said salary costs can be reduced for the facilities/transportation position by designating it as a “classified” position not requiring state licensure.

Assistant Superintendent for Facilities and Transportation Steve Bradshaw currently holds the position, and he will retire June 30. The job description for Bradshaw’s administrative secretary, Gail Grant, who will also retire June 30, was also changed to reflect the change in the senior position title.

The technology position required a change in terminology to clarify the district technology coordinator as a non-certified position, Hart said.

“This is more cleanup than anything,” he said.

Both changes will be reviewed through the district’s personnel policy committee, Hart said.

Certified resignations and retirements were accepted for Latoya Martin, Bradshaw, Alma Phillips, Nicole Rogers, Leslie Clements and Elessia Scott.

Summer school certified staff for Beryl Henry Elementary School was approved including Cleytus Coulter, Misty Gilbert, Bennie Lard, Paula Mack, Kimberly Green, Sandra Jones and Shirley Potts.

Substitutes for BHE are Sonji Flemons, Jeanie Gorham, and Tena Jones.

Classified summer school staff at BHE includes Cathleen Collins, Kattie Flenory, and Corlis Stuckey.

In other business, the board:

--Accepted the bid of Dwight Jones Agency for districtwide student activity medical insurance at a premium of $36,187.06 per year for two years.

--Accepted the bid of Moser Furniture, of Rogers, for Beryl Henry Elementary expansion furnishings at a cost of $47,950.05.

--Approved a facilities rental request for the Hope High School auditorium from Pentecostal Temple Church of God in Christ for Sept. 3 church services.