Bobcat News

HOPE – One announcement at the commencement exercises for the Hope High School Class of 2022 drew a shocked response… the Class of 2022 had been offered or awarded more than $950,000 in total college scholarship support.

HHS Principal Donald Patton made the announcement prior to the certification and awarding of diplomas to the graduates at Hammons Stadium May 13 the day after the announcement of the annual senior honors at Hempstead Hall.

HHS faculty honors announced May 12 included:

American Legion Citizenship Award – C’aiarh King, Oscar Marquez.

Beryl Henry Award – Richard Ware.

Irma Dean Award – Montavius Eason.

James H. Jones Award – Alana Flenory, Jimmy Paredes.

“In 1985, Hope High School had eight scholarships given out,” HHS Senior Class Sponsor Jill Self said during the awards event. “We have really grown from that number to over 40 this year, thanks to our local businesses, individuals, civic clubs, colleges and universities, and LifeShare, who have made this evening possible.”

Scholarships and awards announced May 12 included:

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Scholarship – Eva Davis.

April Love Memorial Award – Montavius Eason, Richard Ware.

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity – Montavius Eason.

Arkansas School Plant Management Association Scholarship – Ashlyn Courtney.

Catheryn Burton Scholarship – Eva Davis.

Civitan Scholarship – Eva Davis.

Counselor’s Award – Jimmy Paredes, Oscar Marquez.

Delta Kappa Gamma Scholarship – Carlie Beck.

Delta Sigma Theta: Magnolia Alumnae Chapter Book Scholarship – Richard Ware.

Delta Sigma Theta: Texarkana Alumnae Chapter – Richard Ware, Montavius Eason.

Denny Dickinson FFA Scholarship – Oscar Marquez.

Earl Downs Memorial Scholarship – Oscar Marquez.

Gwendolyn Roshelle Smith Scholarship – Ashlyn Courtney.

Hempstead County Retired Teachers Association – Carlie Beck.

Hope Evening Lions Club – Montavius Eason.

Hope Lions Club Scholarship – Hunter Mathis.

Junior Auxiliary of Hope – Bradley Kellar, Alan Easterling, Ashlyn Courtney, Kai Hamilton.

Kiwanis Club: Jim McKenzie Memorial Scholarship – Ashlyn Courtney.

Kiwanis Club: Henry Seamans Scholarship – Montavius Eason.

Karen Ivers Dyslexia Scholarship – Margauxsoul Maclaughlin.

Life Share Life Scholarship – C’aiarh King.

Lurlean Cannon Phillips Scholarship: Arkansas Community Foundation – Montavius Eason.

Pafford Medical Services Scholarship – Ashlyn Courtney.

Red Diamond Scholarship – Eva Davis.

Staci Monk Memorial Scholarship – Montavius Eason.

Tough Kookie Foundation Scholarship – Tomas Hall.

Steel Dynamics New Millennium Scholarship – Corwin Turner.

Wadley Hospital Auxiliary at Hope Scholarship – Ashlyn Courtney.

Yerger Rutherford Scholarship – Richard Ware.

Arkansas Tech University – Skakira Arnette, Collin Easterling, Alana Flenory, Chandler Flenory, Brandon Gallegos, Juan Leon, Darlene Matamoras, Hunter Mathis.

Henderson State University – Katherine Bartlett, Bradley Kellar, Ammorrion Dempsey, Jimmy Paredes, Khyianna Smith, Skyler Wilburn.

Hendrix College – Kearon Brown.

Ouachita Baptist University – Kearon Brown, Jimmy Paredes.

Southern Arkansas University Scholarship – Carlie Beck, Griffin Trauger.

University of Arkansas at Fayetteville – Sydnie Booker, Alecia Bradley, Cody Clayton, Ashlyn Courtney, Montavius Eason, Alan Flenory, Courtland Jackson, Samantha Ventura, Richard Ware.

University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana Scholarship – Skyler Wilburn (UAHT Honors Scholarship).

University of Arkansas at Little Rock – Montavius Eason.

University of Central Arkansas – Brandon Gallegos, C’aiarh King, Richard Ware.

Missouri Western State University – Ammorrian Dempsey.

WorkKeys Certification – Nixey Aguilar, Iris Alvarado, Jamesha Armstrong, Shakira Arnett, Sadie Bacon, Taylor Banks, Katherine Bartlett, Carlie Beck, Sydnie Booker, Alecia Bradley, Oscar Bruno, Dakota Burchette, Jocelyn Castro, Julian Chapa, Ashlyn Courtney, Ka’asijah Cox, Yulisa DeLaRosa, Ammorrion Dempsey, Montavius Eason, Jason Easterling, Alayshia Ellis, Alana Flenory, Chandler Flenory, Gregorio Frayre, Rebekah Fulton, Barndon Gallegos, Antonio Garcia, Markayla Hall, Kai Hamilton, Dahja Henderson, Tamera Henderson, Joshua Henley, Katie Howard, Courtland Jackson, Michael Johnson, Bradley Kellar, C’aiarh King, Juan Leon, Armando Lopez, Brenda Lopez, Margauxsoul Maclaughlin, Raina Masters, Hunter Mathis, Sunny McKamie, Nadya Munoz, Jimmy Paredes, Da’sheunna Purifoy, Maliyah Richardson, Jadora Rivera, Brooklyn Robinson, Paige Shroads, Wesley Smith, Destiny Stuart, James Tomlin, Corbin Tucker, Corwin Turner, Giovanni Vargas, Brenda Ventura, Samantha Ventura, Hale’ Ward, Richard Ware, Skyler Wilburn, Kyla Wyatt.

National Honor Society (senior stoles) – Odalis Aldaba, Jamesha Armstrong, Skakira Arnett, Sydnie Booker, Kearon Brown, Eva Davis, Jocelyn Castro, Ashlyn Courtney, Ammorrion Dempsey, Montavius Eason, Brandon Gallegos, C’aiarh King, Melanie Lara, Brenda Lopez, Brittany Martinez, Michelle Martinez, Darlene Matamoras, Massie McLaughlin, Jadora Rivera, Khyianna Smith, Krystal Vasequez, Hale’ Ward, Richard Ware, Kylia Wyatt.

The honor graduates of the Hope High School Class of 2022 were introduced during the annual Senior Awards Night at Hempstead Hall on May 12. The students represented the highest academics among the graduates of the Class of 2022, with Shakira Arnett graduating first in the class. – Ken McLemore/Hope Public Schools

Faculty awards presented to students of the Hope High School Class of 2022 at the Senior Awards Night on May 12 included The American Legion Citizenship Award to C’aiarh King and Oscar Marquez; The James H. Jones Award to Alana Flenory and Jimmy Paredes; The Irma Dean Award to Montavius Eason; and The Beryl Henry Award to Richard Ware. – Ken McLemore/Hope Public Schools

The Hope Collegiate Academy Class of 2022 received Associate of Arts degrees from the University of Arkansas-Hope in ceremonies at Hempstead Hall prior to graduation from Hope High School in commencement exercises May 13 at Hammons Stadium. – Ken McLemore/Hope Public Schools

(Editor's Note: Additional photos of senior honors will be posted in separate groups to prevent posted files from becoming too large.)